Church of St. Stanislaus (Danube)

In a small village Dounaev Lviv region stands the church of defensive value, named in honor of St. Stanislaus. This church stands in the center of the village and stands on a high hill. Before the shrine was located not far from the castle, which together with the temple formed Dunaevsky defense complex. Unfortunately, the construction of the castle did not survive to the present day.
Most Ukrainian sources claim that the Church of St. Stanislaus was built in 1485. The temple was erected in place of the outdated wooden building. The original Gothic style is still visible in the form of a lancet portals of the temple.
The founder of the church became Archbishop Jan Stzheletsky. Since the time of the construction of the temple renovated several times, resulting in the acquired current Renaissance form. But, no matter what the defensive nature of the design can be seen in every detail: the massive walls and towers, the windows in the form of loopholes, forbidding galleries and more.
In Soviet times, the church of St. Stanislaus closed and returned to his Catholic community Dunaeva only in 1992. Today, the temple serves the Society of Saint Francis Salezkogo.